We fixed a problem with our quote request form. If yours did not go through, please send it again. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Barndo Finder

Builders / Oklahoma

Barndominium builders in Oklahoma

Planning a build? Read our guide to building a barndominium in Oklahoma.

Builders tracked

16

Barndominium-specific, deduplicated

Turnkey

$130 to $195

Per sqft, directory estimate

Shell only

$35 to $65

Per sqft, directory estimate

Permits and codes in Oklahoma

Outside city limits, most Oklahoma counties do not run a residential building permit program. You will still need a septic permit through DEQ and possibly a floodplain development permit, but inspections of the structure itself are often nonexistent. That freedom cuts cost and time, and it also means your contract and your builder's reputation are the only quality control. Wind is the engineering driver; ask what design wind speed the building is engineered for and get it in writing.

Financing a barndominium in Oklahoma

Oklahoma AgCredit, Farm Credit of Western Oklahoma and regional banks finance barndominiums routinely, and Oklahoma's low land prices keep total project budgets among the lowest in the country. Because county inspections are sparse, lenders lean harder on their own draw inspections. Expect the lender to want an experienced builder on record.

The list (16)

Sorted by review count. Featured listings are labeled.

HRI Roofing & Post Frame listing photo
4.7 (87)Shell
View profile · Unclaimed listing
TBC Buildings & Concrete listing photo
4.3 (61)Scope not confirmed
View profile · Unclaimed listing
Fry Design Company listing photo
4.9 (59)Turnkey
View profile · Unclaimed listing
Greg James Designs listing photo
4.1 (34)Shell
View profile · Unclaimed listing
Bradford Buildings listing photo
4.8 (28)Scope not confirmed
View profile · Unclaimed listing
SEMCO Construction listing photo
4.6 (17)Shell and turnkey
View profile · Unclaimed listing
Phillips Post Frame LLC listing photo
5.0 (12)Shell
View profile · Unclaimed listing
Elite Pro Outdoor Structures listing photo
4.6 (10)Scope not confirmed
View profile · Unclaimed listing
A-N-H Construction LLC listing photo
5.0 (7)Scope not confirmed
View profile · Unclaimed listing
Route 66 Buildings listing photo
5.0 (4)Turnkey
View profile · Unclaimed listing
Rob-Bilt Pole Barns listing photo
5.0 (4)Shell
View profile · Unclaimed listing
Legacy Barn Company listing photo
5.0 (3)Shell
View profile · Unclaimed listing
BW Metal Works listing photo
5.0 (2)Scope not confirmed
View profile · Unclaimed listing

Ad space available

Your barndo business can be here

Builders, lenders, kit makers and suppliers: put your company in front of people planning a barndominium in Oklahoma.

Get the deck and pricing

Building a barndominium in Oklahoma

A finished barndominium in Oklahoma runs about $130 to $195 per square foot turnkey, or $35 to $65 per square foot for a shell, by our directory estimates. That puts a 2,400 square foot home at roughly $312,000 to $468,000 before land and site work, among the lower totals in our state table. We list 15 Oklahoma builders, most of them in the Oklahoma City and Tulsa corridors.

Three things set Oklahoma apart. The state has a residential code, the 2024 IRC as of September 14, 2026, but in much of the rural county nobody inspects against it. There is no state license for general contractors, so vetting is your job. And this is tornado country, with a state rebate program for safe rooms that you have to plan around before you pour anything.

Land, zoning and deed restrictions

Oklahoma counties can adopt zoning, but outside the metro counties many rural areas have little of it, and a barndo on acreage is usually just a house. The binding rules are private: recorded deed restrictions and HOA covenants can ban metal siding, set a minimum square footage or prohibit "barn-style" or accessory structures used as dwellings. Ask the title company for every recorded restriction and read them before closing.

Inside city limits, zoning districts and exterior material rules apply, and a few cities go further. After the 2013 EF5 tornado, Moore adopted a residential code in 2014 requiring new homes to withstand 135 mph winds, with hurricane clips, frame-to-foundation bolts and stronger garage doors. If you are building in or near a city, ask whether any local wind amendments apply.

Codes, engineering and climate

The Oklahoma Uniform Building Code Commission adopted the 2024 IRC as the statewide minimum residential code, effective September 14, 2026. It replaced the 2018 IRC, in effect since September 14, 2022. Enforcement is local. Cities issue permits and inspect. In the unincorporated county, state law lets the board of county commissioners adopt building codes by resolution, hire state-licensed building inspectors and set permit fees. Oklahoma County is one that does, issuing permits for its unincorporated area. Where a county has adopted nothing, the house gets no code inspection.

Oklahoma also has no state general contractor license. The Construction Industries Board states that general contractors are not currently required to hold one, while electrical, plumbing, mechanical and roofing work require licensed or registered trades. Hire licensed trades even where no inspector will check, because your insurer and lender will ask.

The engineering driver is wind. A metal building's weak points in a tornado are the roof-to-wall and wall-to-foundation connections and the large overhead doors. Ask the engineer for the design wind speed, the anchor design and the rating on every garage and shop door. Hail matters too; ask your insurer how it treats cosmetic dents on a metal roof before you pick panel gauge.

Safe rooms and the SoonerSafe rebate

A safe room is worth designing in from day one. The state's SoonerSafe program, run by Oklahoma Emergency Management with FEMA hazard mitigation funds, pays up to $3,000 per home, capped at 75 percent of the cost. The rules matter for a new build:

  • Registration is online during an annual enrollment period, and winners are chosen by random drawing.
  • A safe room installed before you are selected is not eligible, under the federal grant rules. New homes qualify, but the timing has to line up.
  • It must be your primary residence, installed by a professional (not you), and built to FEMA P-320, FEMA P-361 and ICC 500.

As of September 2026, the program page says the 2026 round is not open. Register when it opens, and do not hold up your build for it. Our storm safety guide covers shelter types.

What a barndominium costs in Oklahoma

Here is the math from our state table. These are Barndo Finder directory estimates, not transaction data, and they exclude land, well, septic, site work and the driveway.

SizeShell ($35 to $65/sqft)Turnkey ($130 to $195/sqft)
1,500 sq ft$52,500 to $97,500$195,000 to $292,500
2,400 sq ft$84,000 to $156,000$312,000 to $468,000
3,000 sq ft$105,000 to $195,000$390,000 to $585,000

Oklahoma sits $15 to $20 per square foot under the national turnkey median in our data (shell $45 to $75, turnkey $145 to $215), and $10 to $15 under Texas. Budget for a safe room on top: it is not in these numbers. Our 2026 cost report has the national picture, the sizes guide shows how footprint moves the total, and every state is on the cost page.

Financing and insurance in Oklahoma

Oklahoma AgCredit serves 60 of the state's 77 counties from 18 branches, and since February 2023 it has offered Rural 1st loans, the rural lending division of Farm Credit Mid-America, including construction loans for land and home. In the west, Farm Credit of Western Oklahoma offers Rural 1st home loans from branches in Altus, Alva, Anadarko, Clinton, Elk City, Enid, Guymon, Tuttle and Woodward. American AgCredit also lends in parts of the state, and community banks write the rest.

Where the county does not inspect, the lender's draw inspector is often the only outside eye on the build. Expect the lender to want stamped plans, a fixed-price contract and a builder with a track record it can check. Our construction loan guide explains draws, and the financing page compares lender types.

Insurance is a normal homeowners policy, but wind and hail deductibles are the line to read. Ask for the deductible as a dollar figure, and ask whether a safe room, impact-rated doors or a Class 4 roof changes the premium. Our barndominium insurance guide covers carriers.

Utilities, well and septic

Every rural Oklahoma septic system starts with a DEQ Authorization to Construct, purchased and issued before installation. The soil test comes first, and soil profile tests may only be done by DEQ or a DEQ-certified soil profiler. Depending on the soil, the system can be conventional, an aerobic unit with spray or drip irrigation, or a lagoon. A certified installer can inspect and approve their own work; otherwise DEQ inspects. Since November 1, 2025, an uncertified individual may install only one system a year, which closes most of the do-it-yourself route.

Wells are drilled by firms licensed through the Oklahoma Water Resources Board. For budgeting, published estimates run $3,500 to $8,500 and up for a septic system and $10,000 to $30,000 for a drilled well, per our build process guide. Many rural areas have a rural water district line along the road, so ask about a tap before you price a well.

A realistic timeline in Oklahoma

Plan on 12 to 18 months from design to move-in, the national range from our build timeline guide. Rural Oklahoma usually lands at the fast end.

  • Before you buy: deed restrictions, the county's permit status, floodplain, and the soil profile for septic.
  • Pre-construction: 3 to 6 months. Stamped engineering, the loan and the DEQ authorization. A county with no permit program saves plan review time. Register for SoonerSafe if a round is open.
  • Construction: 6 to 12 months for a turnkey home. Spring storm season can stall roofing and concrete for days at a time.

Builders we list in Oklahoma

We list 15 barndominium builders in Oklahoma. Here are the most reviewed, by region, with what our data shows. Ratings are public Google reviews at the time we indexed them.

RegionBuilderCityBuild typeRating
North CentralHRI Roofing & Post FramePonca CityShell4.7 (87 reviews)
OKC metroTBC Buildings & ConcreteNewcastleNot stated4.3 (61 reviews)
OKC metroSEMCO ConstructionYukonShell and turnkey4.6 (17 reviews)
CentralFry Design CompanyGuthrieTurnkey4.9 (59 reviews)
CentralPhillips Post Frame LLCSeminoleShell5.0 (12 reviews)
CentralRoute 66 BuildingsStroudTurnkey, Red Iron kits5.0 (4 reviews)
Tulsa areaJ&J Chapman Construction, LLCSkiatookTurnkey, Red Iron kits4.8 (40 reviews)
Eastern OklahomaBradford BuildingsWestvilleNot stated4.8 (28 reviews)
SouthwestBW Metal WorksMarlowNot stated5.0 (2 reviews)

Tan metal building with a wood-post covered porch, cupola and two white overhead doors behind a garden Photo: Bradford Buildings

With no state license to check, ask every builder on this list for proof of insurance, a list of completed homes you can drive by, and whether their engineering covers your county's wind design. Two list Red Iron kits; our red iron kit guide explains steel grades and pricing. If you go the shell route, read shell vs turnkey, and for layouts see our barndominium floor plans.

Ready to price your build? Request quotes from Oklahoma builders who serve your county, and check every number against our cost table.

Updated September 2026 · Barndo Finder research

Building in Oklahoma: common questions

Do you need a building permit for a barndominium in Oklahoma?

Inside city limits, yes. In unincorporated areas it depends on the county: state law lets a board of county commissioners adopt building codes by resolution, and counties such as Oklahoma County issue permits, but many rural counties have no residential permit program. Everyone on rural land still needs a DEQ Authorization to Construct for the septic system.

How much does a barndominium cost in Oklahoma?

Our directory estimate for Oklahoma is $130 to $195 per square foot turnkey and $35 to $65 per square foot for a shell. A 2,400 square foot turnkey build works out to about $312,000 to $468,000 before land, well, septic, driveway and site work. Those are estimates from our state table, not quotes.

Can I get a rebate for a storm shelter in my Oklahoma barndominium?

Possibly, through the state's SoonerSafe program: up to $3,000, capped at 75 percent of the cost, for a safe room at your primary residence, including a new home. Winners are drawn at random from annual online registration, and you must be selected before you install. As of September 2026 the state says the 2026 round is not open.

Does an Oklahoma barndominium builder need a license?

Not a general contractor license. The Construction Industries Board says Oklahoma does not currently require a state license for general contracting. Electrical, plumbing, mechanical and roofing work do need licensed or registered trades. Vetting the builder is on you: insurance certificates, completed builds you can visit and references from owners in your county.

Which Farm Credit lenders finance barndominiums in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma AgCredit covers 60 of the state's 77 counties from 18 branches and, through a 2023 partnership with Rural 1st, offers land and home construction loans. Farm Credit of Western Oklahoma offers Rural 1st home loans from nine western branches, from Guymon to Altus. American AgCredit also lends in parts of the state.

What building code applies in Oklahoma in 2026?

The Oklahoma Uniform Building Code Commission adopted the 2024 IRC as the statewide minimum residential code, effective September 14, 2026, replacing the 2018 IRC. Cities enforce it through their own permits. A county enforces a code in unincorporated areas only if its commissioners have adopted one by resolution.

Request builder quotes

We send your request to builders who work in your area. It costs nothing.